The Boise Hills - home to the Art of Silence Course

Just back from an incredible weekend outside  Boise teaching a course in silence on a ranch in the middle of nowhere about a mile up in the Sawtooth Mountains… about as ideal a location for a silent meditation retreat as you’re going to find…it’s great to be present at the beginning of a new group which is just taking shape… to see people waking up and beginning to  take responsibility for the well being and growth of others around them… and to see each one diving deep within, discovering energy and creativity they didn’t know they had,  and starting to blossom from the inside out…

we took great advantage of the spectacular surroundings, especially on one sunny afternoon when we all took a silent walk (and run:) together…When one person(in this case the local teacher Leslye Moore) takes a stand and makes a commitment to the growth and development of an entire city, the results are powerful and plain to see… people are attracted magnetically to the energy of the group pulling as one (and having a great time in the process!) and then that energy begins to move out into the community in the form of service… When I left I challenged them all to make good use of theenergy they had created together in silence to create a service project  as a way of giving back to Boise during the Holiday season… I skype with the group tomorrow to see what they’ve come up with…

In some ways the spirit of Boise as a community is an example of  the best of what America still has to offer… a group of people who are strong, self reliant, in many ways traditional and still full of the pioneer “can do” spirit… and yet practical enough to be open to new ideas and new ways of doing things…  I was really inspired by my time with them…sometimes I think I get more out of these courses than my students do. This was my fourth trip to Boise… something inside tells me it won’t be my last…

